I want to quit the gym

Lucy

After having a bad experience at one gym, I found another place to train, I’ve been training there for around six months, and everything about the gym is great. The other students, the trainers, lesson layout, the fact I can see myself progress with this gym, all good, except.. it’s about 40 miles away, so a 90 minute lesson, works out at 4.5 hours, what with traffic ( or traffic jams with rush hour ) plus petrol is costing me around £400 a month on top of member fees.

There’s a new gym opened up a lot closer to me, I know the guys running it and we get along great, they know I want to eventually fight and I’m sure they will help me achieve this ( as would the other gym )

Problem is I feel so guilty wanting to leave my gym, as they haven’t done anything to upset or annoy me, it’s purely a monetary reason

I don’t know if I should change gyms or stick where I am

( I can afford my gym, but the new one I would save about £250pm, and it’s only 20 mins away )

Anyone else had a similar experience or any advice on what to do?

( even if my gym let me train for free, I wouldn’t want that as my trainer still has to make a living, but I would still be spending lots of petrol and it’s still a lot time wise )

I think you’re overcomplicating this. :) Unless you have a membership contract that needs breaking, there is no reason to feel guilty for moving somewhere that better suits your location. That’s too far when you have closer options that are viable.

• Like 3

Maybe this can help you a bit; http://8limbs.us/muay-thai-forum/topic/236-on-changing-gyms

Maybe you just can talk about it with your current gym I think they will understand, since £250/month is not nothing :wink: and timewise also... And you pay for the training, so you should do what is the best for your progression, wallet, time, ...you aren't betraying them by choosing for yourself.
Or maybe first try the new for a short time, before making the change.

• Like 3