Cynical

1+1 Keto - Do you Take Potassium & Sodium on Fast Days?

Hi,

On the fasting day do you still take supplements for sodium, potassium, and magnesium or do you not ingest anything at all? I've been doing keto on and off for a couple of years, and I've done water fasts before. But I'm interested in trying this 1+1 fasting approach. 

Thanks

• Like 1

We used to only do water and coffee, but since focusing on potassium and sodium we take that now. Which means that there are a small amount of carbs ingested. Whether this is strictly a fast I think is less important than the benefit. ISo, sodium and potassium yes. Personally, as a non-athlete, I am inconsistent in this. Maybe on half the fast days I stay with coffee and water.

• Like 2

11 minutes ago, Kevin von Duuglas-Ittu said:

We used to only do water and coffee, but since focusing on potassium and sodium we take that now. Which means that there are a small amount of carbs ingested. Whether this is strictly a fast I think is less important than the benefit. ISo, sodium and potassium yes. Personally, as a non-athlete, I am inconsistent in this. Maybe on half the fast days I stay with coffee and water.

Thanks for the quick reply, do you still use heavy whipping cream in your coffee on fasting days or do you go just black coffee? Also I like to drink powerade zero and supplement some of the sodium and potassium in it. So I can drink it and actually enjoy taking the supplements, would this be fine to do on the fasting day? I really appreciate the reply, this whole website is helping me a lot.

• Like 1

Just now, Kevin von Duuglas-Ittu said:

Another thing you can do if you really want to be water fasted on those +1 days, is take potassium and sodium the night before, to kind of load the body for the next day to some degree.

I don't mind whether i'm actually completely water fasted or if I'm almost water fasted but still getting a lot of the same benefits. 

• Like 1

9 minutes ago, Cynical said: